Pinsteration and Frustration

22 Sep

Its been a long time since I posted any Pinsteration here, so I thought I might show you what I’ve been drooling over lately:

 

Because I think some massive bright clashing columns would look fantastic in my tiny little rental house.

You can see the details a lot better in this one, but it doesn’t have the whole picture.

artnouveau.eu

Erik Madigan Heck

500px.com

http://quintessenceblog.com/2012/01/living-with-color-in-connecticut/

OK, so I’m not too hot on the style of the floor painting, but I really like the IDEA of it. I’d love to go mad on our horrible stained linoleum. I might have to look into that….

http://www.net-a-porter.com/am/product/78489?cm_mmc=LinkshareUS-_-ProductFeed-_-Temperley%20London-_-Dresses&siteID=J84DHJLQkR4-r4E8I89QcWi57.4luVUdlw

http://twonewyork.com/products.asp?c=kaftans

And now that I’ve done the Pinsteration, on to the Frustration.

Look,  you guys can’t help but notice that I sew a fair amount, but I cannot remember the last time I made something for myself successfully. I just want to put it out there – I don’t seem to have any problems with sewing stuff for other people, but I have not made a single thing I have liked for myself in years. I have just spent the last week sewing a top for myself every spare moment, AND IT WAS FREAKING AWFUL! DOGHEWI GHEWIGH LIESJFGJERKHGTKJ!!!

Arrrrrrrrrrrrggghhhhhh!

I think I might have to go to some actual pattern alteration classes and work out what the hell I’m doing wrong….Anyway, just thought I’d vent.

On blogs everyone’s lives seems to be perfect and fantastic, they make amazing and wonderful things, they cook amazing and wonderful things, they never lose patience with their kids, their kids are fantastic and well-behaved, their photos show they live in a permanent twilight with soft focus, they swim in sepia tone, they are a perfect size 6 and they apparently live in a COMPLETELY DIFFERENT WORLD from the one I do.

So no, in case you hadn’t already worked it out (or know it because you know me well), things often go awry in Casa del Slacker.

Anyway, go and check this out for a laugh – but be warned, its a bit rude, which is why its funny:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/product-reviews/B000KKNQBK

3 Responses to “Pinsteration and Frustration”

  1. domesticdreamer September 22, 2012 at 11:53 am #

    It’s Cos you are always so critical on yourself! Or, what do I know, I don’t know anything about sewing. And don’t forget, people hardly ever project the downsides of their life, only the best. It’s easy to pretend from behind a camera lens xx

  2. Patch September 22, 2012 at 7:27 pm #

    Rofl at your link!! Going to show it to Mr P later ;) Know exactly what you mean about everything looking perfect on people’s blogs. Have you seen this one http://ohsewrosy.wordpress.com/
    Much more honest and very funny. Well worth a look. Wish I could write like that.

    Love your pinsteration, very colourful. Especially like the columns and the kitchen.

    • theslackone September 23, 2012 at 12:20 am #

      Oh, that site is golden – GOLDEN!! Its nice to know I’m not the only TOTALLY MENTAL PARENT around the place. Thanks for that, Patch!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

