Ekka = I’ll never do it again

15 Aug

That’s how the big the Ekka is. Boy’s eyes nearly fell out of his head they were so wide open. The noise was tremendous, the crowds insane, pushing in on us from all sides. It was a mosh-pit walkway. I’m amazed I managed to hold onto those kids and so glad I dumped the pram with the goats.

D unexpectedly got her way yesterday and managed to guilt Daddy into allowing her to go to the Ekka – although somehow I was the one who took her! Don’t quite know how he managed that one…? After some quick calling around I arranged to meet up with Koko and his grandad who were showing their pretty goats, and they got us in free – saved $35 right there. Then I took the kids off and around.

If I ever do this again, I will bring a packed lunch. I can’t believe how much I spent on food. It should have all gone on rides. Oh well.

Here’s some photos:

Koko couldn’t believe he hadn’t won. He hung around for ages trying to argue with the guy before I dragged him away.

Here they are, checking out their loot and divvying up lollies.

It took me all night to recover.

You may wonder why I used ginormous pictures this post – I felt like they needed to be huge to try to convey how overwhelming that darn show is.

4 Responses to “Ekka = I’ll never do it again”

  1. theslackone August 15, 2011 at 4:13 pm #

    Iwish my hair wasn`t in a mess in that last photo but tank you mum for posting that!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. kasl dglkaj df August 15, 2011 at 8:53 pm #

    OMG, what a crack-up! Loved the bit about Koko arguing that he should have won a prize again…what were his points anyway?? LOL and so much else! Hope you have more pics and that you will put them up here. I actually loaded these up in no time! Amazing. Wonder how long that will last???

    • theslackone August 16, 2011 at 3:17 pm #

      Well I don’t like your chances – not from India anyway. I can’t remember but I think Koko got 65 on the strength test – you needed 95 to win. He was sure he’d won, and the guy actually let him have another go, but he still didn’t win and Koko couldn’t believe it. Too funny!

  3. domesticdreamer August 16, 2011 at 8:43 pm #

    Oh good it sounds like… most of you guys had fun 🙂 Koko looks so funny in his farm clothes, like a real live cowboy. I bet he had a great time going around with you guys. And that is SO like him to argue with the carnie. Doesn’t he know never ever to argue with a carnie?! They always win! They’re carnies!

Leave a Reply

