DIY Cloth Nappies

17 Aug

OK, lets try a crafternoon post – anyone disinterested in sewing or nappies may as well tune out.

I like using cloth nappies for Boy, but I don’t so much like the cost of the modern cloth nappies – some of those suckers go for like $20 for ONE PILCHER!! Generally I use terry squares or bamboo squares and fold them and stuff them into a fitted nappy cover. If its nice warm weather I just do a origami nappy and fasten it with a snappy and don’t bother with a pilcher.

Anyway, I decided to sew my own pilchers because there’s no way I am spending that much on nappies again, and I was never very happy with some of them anyway.

So I made a template from a pilcher that I did like, bought a metre of PUL fabric from the internet at $13 a metre and went from there.

The first one I made was more of a Frankenappy, was very messy and was mostly for working out how sewing with the PUL and velcro goes. I ended up needing to tinker a bit, but came up with a style I like which fits Boy and should be able to expand with him.

First I cut two of the pilcher pattern in flannel for the inner and the PUL fabric, then I sewed them together, right sides together, leaving the top front seam open. The PUL seems to stretch a bit during sewing, and the wrong side is rubbery and drags while sewing, but it doesn’t really matter.

Ignore the mess – I do.

Then I clipped the curves and corners, and sewed a buttonhole into the flannel on either side of the backside. That was dumb, I should have sewn the buttonholes before sewing the front and back together. Oh well. Then I turned it inside out, sewed a channel along the top back and along the leg seams to make an elastic casing.

I have used some button-hole elastic from an old pair of jeans of Dhara’s which I took apart for the elastic in the leg-holes, threaded it through the casings, stitched the ends down, and buttoned the elastic to pull it as tight as needed.

Then I turned the top front to the inside by a centimetre, sewed it down and I’m almost done.

Just need to sew velcro to the front waist and straps and all done!

There we go, finished.

Here’s another pair:

And here’s Boy modelling the finished product:

I got four nappy covers out of the one metre, and they ended up costing me about $3.50 each since all the rest ofthe materials is odds and ends left over from other projects or scavenged from old clothes (buttons, elastic etc). Very happy with this lot, just regret that I ever bought ready-made ones. I think I might get another metre of material and make red ones this time…what do you think?

3 Responses to “DIY Cloth Nappies”

  1. kasl dglkaj df August 17, 2011 at 10:00 pm #

    Well, I, for one, am very impressed. Loved it all and especially how you re-use things from elsewhere and other garments. Dad was impressed as well and it is hard to impress him, huh. I think you did an excellent job and they look so tailored on him as well. MUCH less bulky than the ones you were using when I was there. WELL DONE! Now, if you could only make me another pudding and send here…

    • theslackone August 18, 2011 at 11:24 am #

      So he should be! I am very impressed with myself too. Much better than the Frankenappy one, hey?!

      You need to update your blog by the way.

  2. domesticdreamer August 19, 2011 at 9:52 am #

    no they should be maroon. and say ‘QUEENSLANDER’ across the bottom…

Leave a Reply

