Garden and random

12 Oct

Hiyas,  I am beginning to think that this blog is going to be one of those things where I start off every time by apologising for not posting more frequently. Except I’m not gonna. I keep trying to wait till I have photos of stuff I have finished lately, but I haven’t gotten around to taking photos yet because my camera is full, etc etc. So today I am going to try to get to Big W and print out like 400 photos or something, so I can delete them from the memory card and get back to taking photos again.

In the meantime, I’ll show you some stuff we’ve been doing around here.

You remember I showed the garden as we were starting to plant stuff? Well here are some sweet peas, they smell so beautiful –

Our veggie plot at the front:

We’re already getting zucchini flowers, beans and peas up the back there and lots of the nasturtian flowers and leaves are making it into our salads, yummy. The lettuce is almost big enough to pick although the corn is a long way off. This garden is nowhere near enough to feed us of course, but it is nice to have most everything in your salad grown by yourself. And since fruit and vege is unbelievably expensive nowadays, every little bit counts. Yesterday I spent $62 on groceries that used to only cost us about $25 – $30. I’m starting to sound like an old fart aren’t I?

I wish I could garden like this though:

These photos don’t even do it justice. I took Boy to the Roma Street Parklands a couple of weeks ago and we both loved it. it was  great day, fantastic weather and full of massive water dragons. The hardest thing was reining Boy in who kept on trying to jump into the water ponds and features. If I have time today, I’ll take him there again.

At the end of the day, I shared my ice cream with him.

I know – BAD MOMMY!!

 

 

 

One Response to “Garden and random”

  1. domesticdreamer October 12, 2011 at 9:54 pm #

    Oh he is so cute! And your garden looks nice. I wish I had a veggie garden. Fruit and Veg prices are just ridiculous 😦

Leave a Reply

