Its Time For Christmas Crafts

12 Dec

You’re bound to have noticed that a veritable forest of Christmas trees are springing up like a piney-toiletspray scented plague across the lands of the blogosphere, dragging good cheer and itchy tinsel behind it and we here at the Slackers are no different. However, you’ll have to wait for the tree photo because I haven’t taken it yet.

Anyway, at this point everyone should be very happy that I don’t know how to put music on this post, but you can just imagine me singing Christmas songs – badly – VERY badly –  la la lalaLA – lalalaLA!!

I love, love LOVE Christmas! And I am determined not to let reality get in the way of this. This is why it’s weird then, that we have never had our own tree here. Partially this is because we always went to either of our parents for Christmas, and they always have a tree and so we never bothered. More accurately, though, it’s becuause I live with Scrooge and never fought the good fight until very recently to get my (and Girls’) own way. So perhaps I am making up for lost time, but I am having a blast.

We have been working on Christmas crafts. There is no way that I had the energy or time or sanity to do anything like this when I was working, it really highlights (to me anyway) how much my life has changed, some of it for the better, and some of it is a heck of a lot harder.

So this year, this was my Christmas Crafts List:

  • Christmas Cards,

Don’t ask me what dove’s have to do with Christmas – I thought they were a christmas symbol until Scrooge unhelpfully disabused me of this fantasy. 

  • A Gingerbread Cottage (not done yet),
  • Put Up the Tree (Our very first tree of our own – I’ll post photos soon),
  • Biscuits in Cello Bags for Girls school friends,

  • Jar of Biscuits for Teacher Gift (because I’m cheap),

  • Bauble attack the house,

Now, you may feel that some of these points on my list are actually the same thing – well you can go and feck off, alright? I like making points on the list. That way, when I tick items off of it, I get the nice little glow of satisfaction for a job well done. Hopefully, anyway. We’ll see how much actually gets done, especially since I have absolutely no patience whatsoever with kids doing crafts, and Girl suffers from an appalling amount of parental bullying in any of these sorts of endeavours. I have to keep reminding myself that it’s supposed to be for HER!! Not me. Darn it.

9 Responses to “Its Time For Christmas Crafts”

  1. Renovale December 12, 2011 at 4:01 pm #

    I love Christmas tooooo!! It’s definitely my favorite day of the year, and I love decorating my house for it. I sorta thought you guys might make fun of me when you come over at Xmas cos I’m fully intending on having the house all decorated hehe. And actually, M’s really bummed cos he desperately wants to do stockings for all the kids this year lol.
    Oh, and I’m still totally expecting Domestic Dreamer to make fun of me anyway 🙂

    • theslackone December 12, 2011 at 5:03 pm #

      I totally agree – and anyway, why is M really bummed? Why can’t we do stockings? I totally intended to anyway…

      • Renovale December 12, 2011 at 5:26 pm #

        Well he was talking about getting everyone to pitch in a little bit of money so we can go out and get a bunch of little stocking fillers but I told him that I didnt know if that would work since everyone’s apparently so broke this year. We could easily do lollies but not sure if everyone wants their kids hyped up on sugar lol.

      • theslackone December 12, 2011 at 11:49 pm #

        Hell, go ahead! I’m in, and I know Girl would totally approve!

      • Renovale December 13, 2011 at 11:39 am #

        Okay, well I’ve decided I’m going to do stockings for M and Girl, the younger kids are all too little for it to really be worth it, so I thought I’d save a little bit of money there. And since it’s just going to be M and Girl than I can afford to not just fill the stockings with junk food, yay!
        Also, I’ve booked in a grocery delivery for the 23rd, now we just have to Skype one day and try to come up with a final menu.
        Oh, and I forgot to say before, but I also love Christmas music lol. I have a playlist on my computer of old classic Christmas songs that I try to play at least once a day, haha sad isn’t it?? 😛

      • theslackone December 13, 2011 at 11:50 am #

        Well, we have our own stockings, and Boy is getting one too – just its going to have biscuits, chips and hotwheels in it instead. Usually we just get a pack of ferero rochers and empty that into Girls one, but it’d be wasted on Boy.

  2. domesticdreamer December 15, 2011 at 3:38 pm #

    Oh M has a stocking here, and so does oof. M’s will probably have some rocks and sticks in it, and maybe a lollypop, and oofs has a bouncy ball M and I bought for him the other day from the cheap shop. See how rich I’m feeling in the days before christmas, before i decide if i want to go blow a few bucks on candy when the day is going to be candied out anyway 😉
    And I wasn’t picking on you when i made that comment about you decorating your house for christmas (2 christmas’s ago!), i just meant that its not too big a deal when your kids are only young (i think wiggy was only about 1 at the time) compared to when they are older. it’s nice to decorate your house for sure, but if you don’t and your kid is young its no biggie. I believe thats the lines the comment went along, anyway.

    • Renovale December 16, 2011 at 9:39 am #

      Oh, I hadn’t even remembered that you’d commented on decorating the house for Xmas lol. I just figured that you would probably comment this year anyway haha.
      Well what are we going to do about the stockings then? Should we have them set up here (I’m guessing Scoundrel, Girl and Boy will have them here since they’ll be here for Xmas anyway), but do you want to set M and K’s up at your house or try to get them to me before Xmas and I can do them with the rest of the kids? I was going to buy some treats to pop in the stockings and maybe a couple of little toys etc (depending on how much I feel like braving the stores over the next few days :O )
      And why oh why are you putting sticks and rocks in Ms stocking??? :S

    • theslackone December 16, 2011 at 5:30 pm #

      Oh, too funny on Ms stocking, and I totally agree re the decorating of the house. Although, always before when we didn’t decorate I never really got properly into the spirit until we were at Mum and Dads’. I like having everything put up this time.

Leave a Reply

