Burda Ruby Shorts – A Hit And Miss Affair

16 Dec

Ok, so a month ago I said I was going to make a bunch of shorts for Girl from Burda’s Ruby Shorts pattern.

It’s taken me so long to post about it because despite making a muslin to check for fit, I still had to tweak the pattern on the fly. Really, the whole endeavour has been full of problems, not least the weather which is not conducive to slaving away in a small and hot airless room. The worst thing, though, is that the interfacing which I used on the button facings and waistbands melted and shrunk when I pressed them during sewing, and made the material on the other side shrink inwards, creating folds and rumples in the material. It has affected the fall of the shorts, and is very annoying and frustrating. I guess that it has not been helped by the fact that the shorts are designed for adult women, and supposed to be made in a stretch denim, not for a child in absolutely no stretch at all cotton, meaning that the changes necessary have been complicated and annoying.

I’ve abandoned the white pair altogether, the patterned pair is ok, but not fantastic. You know, it really makes me wonder what the point is of sewing. I THINK I enjoy it, but do I really? How many of the projects I make are actually successful? And the unsuccessful projects are definitely very frustrating. Am I just in love with the IDEA of sewing? I don’t know. Am I just a perfectionist (in all things but parenting and cleaning)? I think that my ability is definitely outstripped by my imagination. Maybe I can keep track of it on this blog, and come up with an answer. Although, that means I will actually have to catalogue everything on here, something I don’t always do.

Anyway, here is the outcome of my efforts:

I couldn’t believe it when these shorts turned out to be so loose. Arrrgh!

And the other pair:

The back of both pairs of shorts is a little too long compared to the front. Overall, though, despite all the problems and hassles of these shorts, I am happy with them both, and more importantly, Girl has been wearing them a lot.

4 Responses to “Burda Ruby Shorts – A Hit And Miss Affair”

  1. Renovale December 16, 2011 at 7:44 pm #

    Ooh, I really like those, I actually think they’re really cute. And I can see how you probably meant them to be a tighter fit, but I think they still work quite well and look good as loose as they are.
    And I really like the side buttons, I think you should make me some in maternity version lol

    • KL Goode December 16, 2011 at 11:53 pm #

      I agree with renovale. They are great looking shorts and a little loose is good cus they are more comfortable that way. And a maternity version would be great as well. And, btw, I may be going to Thailand very soon and can take up our little project if you guys are still into it and all. Whaddya say?

      • Renovale December 17, 2011 at 10:16 am #

        Woohoo, I’m totally in for it! Actually I keep meaning to reply to your email from the other day, I keep forgetting sorry BUT I’ll go and do it right now….
        Ooh and I think you should get some samples made and send them over to me to ‘test’ out hehe

      • theslackone December 17, 2011 at 5:31 pm #

        She makes a good point, we have a perfect little model for it all!

Leave a Reply

