Art Gallery Part 1: State Gallery

18 Dec

During the school holidays we generally try to get to GoMA at least once or twice because they have such amazing exhibitions for children, and usually it is absolutely mayhem with the gazillion other families who are also trying to see the exhibitions.

This time I decided to break the visit up into two – the first day we went to the State Gallery so I could visit all my old favourite artworks, and to see the Storybook Illustrations exhibition at the State Library which is within the same complex.

The kids had fun on the Marilyn air vents,

I don’t remember ever seeing this painting before, but I really like it. Unfortunately I can’t remember the name of the artist, but if your computer has super zoom, you may be able to read the plaque to the side of  the painting.

We also visited with one of my favourite paintings by Grace Cossington Smith:

And saw the fantastic paintings by the Australian Impressionist, John Russell. Unfortunately I couldn’t get a photo of them because I was also chasing Boy at the same time,

Then we headed over to the Storybook Illustrations Exhibition. The kids had a great time. There were lots of interactive activities using iPads, drawing programs etc which Girl spent ages and ages with.

Boy spent his time trying to get onto this little bridge but there was another little boy who didn’t want to share.

Then we went to the Gallery Cafe and shared a chocolate milkshake.

It was a good day, and we didn’t go too insane with trying to do everything in the one day.

There are some great exhibitions around at the moment though, Matisse Drawings and the Landscape Art of Eugene von Guerard. If I can, I would love to check them out.

Leave a Reply

