New Look 6900

12 Feb

I have had this pattern in my stash for years now, I have always really liked the sweetheart neckline, and finally decided to have a go and make it up. Only, because I don’t believe in making things easy on myself, of course I made a load of changes, and the results are only so-so.

For starters, I wanted to make View A but without the pockets, I wanted to make it breast-feeding friendly, and with a shirred back to make it size-indifferent. I drafted another bodice from the lengthen-or-shorten-here line up and sewed it underneath the outer dress, making the outer bodice unclip and fold down just like a maternity bra.

This is the inside of the dress, you can see the under-bodice a lot better here. I accidentally sewed it right side to skin, but since I had already serged the seams adjoining it to the back panel when I noticed I decided it didn’t really matter.

Here you can see both clips on the shoulder straps, using old swimmer clips I must’ve bought when I was a teenager.

The problem is that despite cutting a size 16 (and then cutting four inches out when fitting), and putting an extra 20cm in the back panel to accommodate the shirring, it is too tight across the bust. This is mostly because I did not consider where the sweetheart neckline would fall on my chest. It looks fantastic on the model, but on a H-cup individual the effect is extraordinarily slutty. Plus, it didn’t cover my massive nursing bra. I should have realised this way earlier in the planning stages and raised the neckline another 2 inches or at least done a FBA, but instead I noticed after the fact, and compensated by hoicking the neckline higher. Consequently nothing sits right. The neckline which sits so sweetly on the model flares out to the sides like a pair of gumboots, and the part where the pattern nips in under the chest now struggles to stretch across the milk stations.

OK, its pretty clear I will never have a career as a model. Posing for photos is a cringe-worthy business, and I am really really awful at it. Also, my vanity overcame me and I deleted all the photos in which my complaints about this dress are clearly illustrated.

I have tried really hard to like this dress because I spent so much time thinking about making it, and then actually making it, but at the end of the day, I don’t think it looks great on me. I’m not too sure whether its me or the dress or both. Either way I’m not chucking it just yet, I’ll keep it as a house-dress.

 

 

4 Responses to “New Look 6900”

  1. domesticdreamer February 12, 2012 at 10:35 pm #

    That dress looks fine in the pics, silly! Is ‘b’ a mini dress? If it’s a top I would like one, thanks. And the skirt too.
    Oh, and I like the pic of you sitting on the window. Purty.

    • theslackone February 12, 2012 at 11:14 pm #

      Well, I did say I deleted all the bad photos! That means I deleted 10 photos and only kept 2. In my book if a dress only looks good if you’re not moving, it’s not a great dress!

      • domesticdreamer February 13, 2012 at 9:56 am #

        well yes I suppose so, since you generally have to move during the day. But as I said, it’s hard to see the bad points you mentioned in the pics you provided. It actually looks quite nice since you loaded nice pics. Also, I think it really suits you, and I think you are very clever to make it BF friendly!

      • theslackone February 13, 2012 at 3:23 pm #

        Well, yes, I do have to agree with that!

Leave a Reply

