I Made a Play Tent

13 Feb

OK, I think I mentioned in a post recently that I was overdoing it on the present front again. Well, this time it was for a good cause – we needed a present and I didn’t want to spend any money. ANY. And I didn’t.

I started out with the wrinkley doll from a few posts ago, but I just wasn’t getting the right vibe. A doll is great and all, but I know this kid has got a billion dolls. And how much better is it to get something that becomes an adventure?

And then it came to me – the people across the way have a massive cool teepee in their yard which Girl and I have coveted ever since they moved in. So I did loads of searches online for different teepee tutorials. And I found some gorgeous creations. But they all took a gazillion metres of material, and that I don’t have. And then I came across this tutorial from Grosgrain.

Immediately I imagined it with a million ruffles, heartshaped windows, a beautiful patchwork ground rug and ribbons festooning the thing. Even Paulie jumped on board and made the frame for me from various odds and ends under the house, and painted it white with paint leftover from the bathroom. Then I spent two days slavishly sewing a wonderful patchwork rug, used two layers of flannel as batting and backed it with an unused shower curtain. I cut the material for the tent, realised I had cut it too small, and sewed it back on, then cut it again, then accidentally cut it in the wrong spot altogether, fixed that, bound it in purple bias binding (picked up years ago $3 for a big plastic bag full and then never used) to hide the calamity of stupidity, and sewed a million ruffles to it. Okay, I sewed four layers of ruffles.

This was the half way point. I stood back, and looked at it. Paul looked at it. Girl checked it out. Boy ran in and out of it.

And I was embarrassed. It was so over the top. It was just supposed to be for a 3rd birthday!

Plus, although I made the rug out of patchwork squares that I didn’t even actually like, once it was all together, I kinda did like it. No, I liked it a LOT. And I didn’t want to give it away. At all. So I decided to keep it. And then War of the Worlds started on the tellie, and I hadn’t seen it yet! And it was really good. Even if that weirdo is in it. So I didn’t finish sewing all the ruffles on. That’s ok, it didn’t need them anyway. And then, quite frankly I decided I couldn’t be assed with the windows or anything, and it would be fine the way it was (minus the ground cloth cause that’s mine now).

And you know what? It turned out great just the way it was.

It immediately became full of little girls, a tea party and a picnic rug (the one we gave her for Christmas!). I did actually wish that I had cut the big window, but really, it didn’t matter. I think its super cool. So there.

This is the patchwork piece I was going to make into the ground cloth. I cut the shower curtain off of it since its mine now and I don’t want a shower curtain on it. Its so nice and bright. I think the word Paul used was “garish”. Thanks.

I don’t know what I’m gonna do with it, maybe make it single bed size for Girl or big enough for my bed – yeah, that sounds about right. So there.

 

10 Responses to “I Made a Play Tent”

  1. Renovale February 13, 2012 at 5:04 pm #

    Wow, that is so adorable, I love it! I’m already making plans in my head for a boys version hehe. Hmm if only I actually knew how to sew ruffles rather than simple straight edges then I would think about making them for some bday pressies too lol. I wonder if it would be too ambitious to attempt a roofed version with 3 walls and a roll-up front door….

    • theslackone February 13, 2012 at 7:33 pm #

      haha! Well, that was my first idea (after the teepee). I reckon if you cut out two house frames – peak roof, side walls and floor out of thick mdf, and drilled holes in the roof apex, botton of the roof, and the ground and put dowell through those, then made your tent, I think its possible. (If any of that makes sense) But Paul just kind of looked at me, and we ended up making an A frame tent!

  2. Renovale February 13, 2012 at 5:16 pm #

    Oh, check out this playhouse I found on some blog a couple of years ago. I luuurve it, it’s soooo cute – but waaaay too much work involved for me haha!
    http://homemadebyjill.blogspot.com.au/2009/10/felt-playhouse.html

    • theslackone February 13, 2012 at 7:52 pm #

      Oh, that is so cute! And really clever too. I did think about making a table-top tent, but the problem there is head-room. Plus, they always seem so dark. Not only that, but her mom is very particular about her house being kept absolutely clean and everything just so at all times.

  3. KL Goode February 13, 2012 at 5:41 pm #

    You are so funny…who was this gift for? and is this the same gift with the tea set, etc. AAAAAAAAAAAnd the notification that I have that sends this blog to my email will only hold it open for a little while and then deletes it so I have to very quickly click on the link to see your blob entry…funny. And I was just showing Suvitra your things here. She thought it was very lovely. Now I have to kick her butt back to work slaving for me,lol

    Plus I liked you ice cream blog and the last one about the dress you made. Pretty pattern, don’t think it is so bad and I don’t think you are such a bad model either.

    • theslackone February 13, 2012 at 7:37 pm #

      Yes, it was for the same little girl. No, the earlier post was about her Christmas present, and this was for her birthday present. And before you say anything about that coincidence, let us review the bedspreads, baby quilts, painted sarongs, cookbooks etc that I have done for people in the past. Over endeavouring has certainly not been limited to that little girl. She’s just the most recent recipient.

      And thank you for your comments on the icecream, yes, it was very yummy (I’m going to try a mocha almond fudge next), I’m glad you liked the dress, and thank you to Suvitra!

  4. Patch February 13, 2012 at 9:16 pm #

    What a beautiful present, well done. I might have to think up a boy version too. Liking your blog too. I will be back to visit again.

    • theslackone February 13, 2012 at 10:13 pm #

      Excellent! This is the kind of comment I approve of. Come on by anytime!

  5. Patch February 13, 2012 at 9:19 pm #

    Ooooo also meant to say LOVE the “garish” patchwork piece, especially the garishness ;o)

Leave a Reply

