Yes, I’m Still Here

23 Apr

I know, I know, I know – but I told you guys already, this is the Slacker blog! I’d hardly be living up to my mandate if I didn’t slack off now and again!

In any case, this is what I’ve been up to:

Cutting and piecing a kajillion little squares together – and I know, I’m not a piecing queen, nothing is quite right! Then cutting an amazing number of loose threads.

I’ve been working on this for weeks now, and am finally up to binding. Thank god. You know, I don’t think I like quilting as much as I keep thinking I do. Its just so…relentless.

At least I have avoided the dreaded and well-known “quilters rage” (Leunig):

Phew! It was close, though. I have acquired a new nephew in the usual way that one acquires these critters. Being time rich and money poor I decided to go shopping in my craft cupboard again and managed to come up with the vast majority of materials – I did buy $6 worth of plain quilting material to mix through though.

About half way through the quilting I decided I was over-endeavouring yet again, and announced “bugger it, I’m keeping it, its mine!” but unfortunately the Scrooge announced he had already told his brother that I was making them a quilt. How rude! Damn it. Now i have to give it away! Maybe I will have to risk the quilters rage again and make Boy one. Or even, finish one of the many unfinished ones I have lying around here. Hmmm, it sounds so much like work…

Here is a picture from the weekend, Girl, Boy and Kai-Kai (so christened by Boy). This photo is in between the endless punch-ups the littles enjoyed the whole time we were there. Ah, the peace of the country. Lovely.

 

4 Responses to “Yes, I’m Still Here”

  1. KL Goode April 24, 2012 at 12:19 am #

    Well we were thoroughly entertained by this post. LOVE the quilt – so nice and yes, how cruel of Scrooge. Hear he has put in the glass panels in the sunroom and soon to do the one in the bathroom and above the french doors into the long room. Hear it is really nice as well…put I only HEAR cus I’ve haven’t received any pics yet…waiting…waiting… Hmmm, punch-ups, huh? Just what I expected, but suspect that Boy is getting his own back. Doesn’t Kai Kai look small next to him? and looks like Kai has had his haircut now. Of course, we can’t actually get away with calling him Kai or Kai Kai as there is another Kai…Kaimana…

    • theslackone April 24, 2012 at 12:33 am #

      How funny! Well, Boy calls Kaimana “Kai” whilst the other is “KaiKai”. See? Very clear. Barely anything there to get confused by. At all.

      Sadly the highlights weren’t installed until late so too dark to get a photo. We still have to put in the other panels for the bathroom as you have noted, so we’ll get a photo then, unless Renovale shoots them first.

  2. Patch April 25, 2012 at 6:41 pm #

    Quilt looks great, the quilting really enhances the pattern. I’m no piecing queen either so you won’t get any criticism here lol!

    • theslackone April 25, 2012 at 7:59 pm #

      Thanks for that, Patch. I wasn’t too sure about the diamonds and probably wouldn’t do them that way again, but it is good to hear positive comments. I think we can all be a little too hard on our own work sometimes whether its quilting and piecing or whatever!

Leave a Reply

