Baked Ricotta and Home-made Salsa

30 Apr

So the Domestic Dreamer has put a call out and is taking orders for cooking suggestions. I think this is a fantastic idea when the dinner mojo suddenly decides to take a hike.

So Dreamer, this is what I reckon: I think you should make baked ricotta with home-made salsa and home-made bread. You’ve got lots of the ingredients for it now (she has posted the contents of her fridge andpantry to make our advisory more sensible). The ricotta and salsa recipe comes from “Vegetarian for Honeymooners” cookbook. I LOVE that book, and have made so many yummy meals from it, but eventually I had to give it back to the bloody library. Pfft. If anyone wants to give me a present, please feel free! There are loads of recipes in it I haven’t tried yet!

There are loads of great bread recipes on the web, including one that’s no-knead. I haven’t tried it, but I’ve heard its fantastic. Or else buy one of those fantastic batards from Coles bakery. They’re about $2 each, and seriously yum.

Get about 400g fresh ricotta from deli, mix with about 30g parmesan/regular cheese, and if you want/have some, 1 egg. press into a prepared cake tin and bake on high for about an hour.

Dice up about 4 of your fresh tomatoes, and slice up two cloves of garlic. In a frypan over high heat fry up the garlic with 1/4 of a cup of olive oil and tomatoes until skin peels and softens. Remove from heat, spoon into serving bowl, add in 1/2 T sugar, 1/4 of a diced red onion, 1 T vinegar, loads of chopped fresh coriander, maybe some tobasco? and season with salt and pepper.

When your ricotta is toasted on top, cut into wedges, top with the salsa and have the bread toasted on the side.

So so yummy. That is my suggestion.

This is us having ours:

 

 

4 Responses to “Baked Ricotta and Home-made Salsa”

  1. domesticdreamer April 30, 2012 at 2:36 pm #

    Did you have this for breakfast or dinner? Just asking cos C looks like she is in her uniform. And did you have this by itself as a full meal or just a snack? And what’s the stuff in the bowl to the left of the salsa?? I just finished my groceries and made sure I got all the ingredients needed.. but I forgot parmesan!! I might make it without, what do you think?

    • theslackone April 30, 2012 at 3:14 pm #

      No, this is definitely dinner. D is in her uniform because she kept putting off having a shower. I wasn’t sure it would make enough, so as well as the bread, I had some home-made hummus. But we barely ate the hummus, the toasted bread with the ricotta and the salsa is beautiful and very filling.

      If I were you, I would make the ricotta with regular cheese if you have no parmesan, definitely don’t make it without any cheese. Even pick some up tomorrow if you have to!

      • domesticdreamer April 30, 2012 at 3:55 pm #

        I think i’m going to make a bruschetta instead of the salsa, its exactly the same only cold. I’ll let you know how I go!

      • theslackone April 30, 2012 at 4:55 pm #

        I wait with breath abated…

        Although honestly, the salsa is not hard! And its really yummy! Just try it.

Leave a Reply

