Happy Mothers Day

14 May

Happy Mothers Day everyone! My Mothers Day was wonderful and also rather horrible. How was yours?

We had lots of fun, and lots of fights. It started out promisingly, with breakfast in bed – toasted croissants with avocado, cheese and tomato, chocolates and cups of tea. Before too long the bed was filled with giggling kiddies, crumbs and a thousand ferrero rochere wrappers.

This was followed by a blissful hour on my own since the Scrooge took the kidlets to church (I am a heathen and get to stay home). Then much fun was had when I attempted to change the sheets and make the bed. Every time I tried to get some chores done Scrooge came along and sent me off, promising faithfully to complete my mission for me. I generally just finished them once he got distracted and wandered off…Hey, it’s the thought that counts!

We had home-made icecream for lunch (maple syrup and roasted buttered pecans), and leftover homemade pizza from the night before.

And then despite having plans to go to Bunnings to get some flower plants and garden the rest of the day, we ended up having an impromptu kite making competition, using only materials we already had around the house, followed by a a kite flying competition at the park.

I am proud to say my kite definitely rocked! I have to admit I cheated though, I snuck onto the internet and bought a quick ebook on kite-making and then just copied – skipping all the hard bits.

This is D flying my kite cause it was definitely the best – even though it didn’t stay aloft for longer than a few minutes at a time.

Then a certain someone had a major meltdown when her kite fell apart, crying and proclaiming that she hated Mothers Day because it always gets wrecked. NO! It wasn’t me, thank you very much! The tantrum was finally brought under control at dinner time. Yes, it was a long tantrum.

Where’s some alcohol when you need it, that’s what I want to know. Oh, that’s right. I drank it already.

 

4 Responses to “Happy Mothers Day”

  1. KL Goode May 14, 2012 at 5:24 pm #

    Homemade Ice Cream! yummmmmmmmmmmmm

    • theslackone May 14, 2012 at 9:54 pm #

      Yup, it was pretty good. And no eggs either!

  2. Patch May 14, 2012 at 6:49 pm #

    Yay to being a heathen 😉
    Sounds a lot like my weekends, lots of ups and downs. Family life eh?? Love the kite making competition, great idea.

    • theslackone May 14, 2012 at 9:56 pm #

      Yep, totally! Like many of the great ideas that have gone before it, it was way harder in the application than the consideration. But also loads of fun! I’m glad we did it.

Leave a Reply

