There’s Nothing Like The Smell Of Turps In The Morning

30 May

So, you’ve probably noticed that this is supposed to be the ARTFUL Slacker blog, and I’ve had a lot of the Slacker bit, and a fair bit of sewing and feeding my face and a lot of kiddie wrangling, and lots and lots of wasting time on Pinterest, but not so much of the Artfulness. I noticed that too.

Anyway, I have actually been painting on and off lately, and thought I’d get a critique on what I’m working on lately. So, just so we’re clear, what I mean by critique is: I don’t really want your honest opinion. Really, what you are supposed to say is “Its fabulous, let me give you mega bucks to make it mine!” and other positive sounds. I dont want to hear a single: “all the diagonals in the brushwork is directing the energy flow out of the painting” or anything similar, ok? We clear? Then let the critiqing (spelling, anyone?) begin!

OK, so there is a fair amount of shine on the paint still that you can see glistening there. That’s gonna happen so just ignore it. So CONSTRUCTIVE criticism anyone? I know the photo is a bit blurry too…

In other news, McScrooge went to a Prince concert (He got free tickets),

Honestly, this man is not a person who has EVER been known to sing along to a Prince song, but a free ticket is a free ticket. Although, he did buy himself a hat from the op shop which he swears is a dead-set Prince hat. I thought the purple velvet one with the satin ribbon was way more Prince, but admittedly, it did cost $2 extra… Anyway, he had fun, but I think the shocking amounts of alcohol consumed before he left may have had something to do with it.

And, I finally made those potato scrolls. Man, they are so fricking good! Yum yum. We ate them all up and there was none left for Girl to put in her lunchbox the next day. I think next time I’ll put some parmesan in the pastry part of the scroll, that might be nice.

Anyway, I think that’s it! Talk to yas later, I guess I should actually go and tidy the place – or even go to sleep! Frick, I can’t believe how late it is! Why do I always do this?!!! Gotta go –

 

 

4 Responses to “There’s Nothing Like The Smell Of Turps In The Morning”

  1. KL Goode May 30, 2012 at 1:13 am #

    uummm… I guess you really didn’t want anyone to CRITIQUE your work…seeing as how there is no picture here….

    So, um, GREAT work waddie! The diagonal strokes are perfect! … um… what is it??

  2. KL Goode May 30, 2012 at 1:19 am #

    Oh! Once I replied the pictures showed up. I recognize that painting! Love it! So did dad. And the scrolls look great too along with the veggies. yummmm, steamed veggies. Haven’t had any of those in a year and a half. Cooked and spicy all the way here!

    • theslackone May 30, 2012 at 10:40 am #

      Hmm, I am seeing the downside to the not quite honest critiqing…so did Dad really like it?

  3. domesticdreamer May 30, 2012 at 8:27 am #

    Um we already talked about the painting… And potato scrolls, yum… And Prince??? Hahahaaa! Paul at a prince concert. Funny funny funny. But yeah, a free ticket is a fee ticket.

Leave a Reply

