Cheap Presents

23 Jun

Summer, summer where for art thou Summer? I miss you! I’m fricking freezing my bloody ass off! This is the season for flannel people. Lots and lots of flannel. Its also the season for crafts because its about the only time of year the sewing room is bearable for any length of time.

So yes, I have been sewing up a storm. Girl had a birthday partay to go to of the sleepover variety and ofcourse, being the cheapskate I am, I sewed for it. I think I spent a grand total of $8 on this present. Girl designed the whole thing after denouncing all my ideas as “lame and boring” and  ordered a sketchbook to be covered with her selection of materials, a pencil case – again in her selection of material and some pencils from the newsagency. The cost was $5.50 for the sketchbook, and $2.50 worth of lead pencils.

I had some oilcloth left-over from another project (I’ll tell you all about it later) and I used some plastic from one of those cases that sheetsets come in – you know the ones? I have never been able to throw them out, and have finally found a use for about 10cms worth of one…now I just have a bag full of them to go. The pencil case pattern is from Amy Butler’s Style Stitches, but I didn’t read the instructions properly and accidentally made it about 5 or 10cms smaller than it should have been.  I don’t know what it is about the instructional language in that book, but after reading about a paragraph my eyes glazed over and I realized I hadn’t a clue what it was trying to say. Couldn’t make head nor tails of it. OH well. Still, it worked ok.

I covered the book with the material as per Girl’s instructions, but couldn’t find any of my origami paper or anything to put on the inside to hide the messy bits. In desperation I used some old colour cards. Oh well. Its covered.

 

Leave a Reply

